The Critical Time – Part 4

(Note: This is a side story, and as such, is narrated in first person and is complementary to the main story.)


“KIRBY!”

“Kirby, please, wake up!”

These were the first things I heard when I started to wake up. I was lying with my face down and I could barely move at first, so I didn’t actually move for reals then. Which, unfortunately, made them worried.

“Oh man, Kirsy, it’s been some minutes now…” Someone said. “I am worried…”

“But Keeby!” Someone touched my back. “Again, I checked his stamina, and it’s not that bad!”

Finally, I recognized those voices: it was Keeby and Kirsy. And the only one that could be talking about checking my stamina to Keeby was Kirsy, so I concluded she was the one touching my back.

“See! What do you even mean, ‘not that bad’?” Keeby said, sounding impatient.

“Simply put, he’s just tired, but he’s alive! I’m fairly sure he just fainted.” Kirsy said, as she let go of my back.

“Ok, but then, when will he wake up?!” Keeby said, still sounding impatient.

“…I don’t know!” Kirsy said with a sad tone. “We gotta be patient…”

“…Kirby…”

Someone put their hands on my back.

“Kirby… I am so sorry about my attitude earlier… I just wanted to help you… Because see, now?” The kirby put their head on my back as well. “You exhausted yourself so much, and what for? To test your abilities? But why?”

Turns out that Keeby was lamenting on my back, very worried about me. Feeling bad for him, and finally having enough energy to move, I did as such.

As I started moving, Keeby stopped talking, and took his body off me. I rolled, now lying with my belly upwards, and opened my eyes.

“KIRBY!!!” Keeby screamed in absolute joy.

“Kirby, you’re okay!” Kirsy shouted, very happy.

Kirsy and Keeby came closer to me, in a relief. They both had such pure smiles on their faces, so happy to see me fine and well. I got up and hugged both of them.

“Yeah, I’m okay y’all!” I said, with a big smile. “A bit tired, but okay.”

“Great to hear! I was worried…” Keeby said, sounding both happy and sad at the same time. Guess he was still overcoming what had just happened.

“Yeah! But I knew you would prevail! You’re Kirby!” Kirsy said.

I laughed, flattered, “Hahaha, true…”

“Kirby! Congratulations!”

Heading in my direction was Bandana Dee, the source of that voice. Remembering the situation from earlier, I asked him, “Oh, Bandana Dee! So you recovered?”

“Yes, indeed!” he nodded, happy. “Kirsy helped me recover, and so did Keeby!”

I looked at both of them, happy, and Kirsy smiled back at me, while Keeby simply blushed. I was proud of both of them.

“Anyway, now that Marx is gone, I can finally give you your trophy!” Bandana Dee said, very happy.

“Oh!” I looked back at him. “Of course! I had even forgotten about it!”

Bandana Dee ran to a corner of the arena, which led somewhere backstage. Not much long after, he came back with a big and shiny golden trophy in his hands.

He stopped in front of me, raised the trophy upwards, and said, “It’s all yours Kirby! Congratulations once again, you deserve it!”

He handed it over to me, and I grabbed it. As I did so, the cheers of the audience grew even louder. They appeared to be really, really excited!

And although I was also excited to receive that trophy… it felt off. Didn’t really feel right. The thing is… I didn’t feel like I was the only one who deserved that spotlight, to be applauded, and all that. So, I just decided to do something my heart was telling me to do.

I turned towards Keeby and Kirsy, and said, “Keeby and Kirsy, this trophy is yours too,” as I handed over it  to the two of them.

As I did that, they both looked at each other in confusion.

“What?”

“But you…”

“Without the help of you two, I could have never done it!” I started to explain to them. “The training we did yesterday, the motivation you two gave me when I was faced against Galacta Knight, and how you two treated Bandana Dee…” I once again pointed the trophy towards them. “You two deserve it too!”

The two looked at each other again, then towards me. It appeared that they didn’t exactly agree with me, or were simply confused. I wasn’t sure at first which it was, or maybe if it was a mix of both.

But then one of them started saying, “Thanks Kirby, but… this was your challenge.” Keeby pushed the trophy back in my direction. “So it should be yours.”

“Yes Kirby, that’s kind of you, but the main deal was you!” Kirsy said, also pushing the trophy towards me. “So you should have it.”

I… I wasn’t really that happy to see that, but… That was… kinda what I expected. I still felt the two deserved the trophy as much as me, but I figured they wouldn’t accept it. So, I wasn’t disappointed exactly, but I did wish they had agreed to share the trophy. But no matter, it wasn’t a time for laments, so I decided to move forward..

“Alright then. So let’s just celebrate my win!” I said, raising up the trophy

Seeing me holding up the trophy, the audience’s cheers got even louder. That was just the beginning of the celebration we were about to start.


After all that celebration, I realized it had gotten a bit late. I bid farewell to everyone there and we all each went back to our homes, myself included.

Well, I guess to one of my two homes. Once again, I went to my house nearest to the arena, which is not my main one. I was just so tired and it was so late that I just figured it made the most sense to sleep there for the night and, the day after, go back to my main house.

I entered the house and put my new trophy on a shelf, next to other trophies I had gotten in the past. I then started getting ready to sleep;. as I did so, my mind was full of thoughts.

“Man, what a day! That whole True Arena thing was so intense, way more than the past arena things… Galacta Knight and then Marx? That was a lot!” I stopped for a few seconds while I grabbed my sleep cap, and then continued thinking, “And today was also the first full day without the other kirbies… And I already kind of feel lonely. Like, now I don’t have Keedy to go talk about what I just did, I won’t get to hear Kanby’s stories, Kiggy won’t come visit… and all that.” I frowned. “Aww… This really is sad.” I once again stopped for a bit, lamenting to myself. Adjusting the cap on my head, I then continued, “It’s so odd and unfair indeed that our species is so rare that apparently only ten of us exist… Well, Meta maybe is one but he won’t confirm or deny for some reason. But yeah, I wish there were more kirbies around… I bet it would be more fun.”

As I continued wondering about our species, I yawned, and just had basically all my tiredness overcome me. I lay down and closed my eyes and I just blacked out. I had fallen asleep.


I don’t remember anything of what I dreamed that night. Which is strange, as usually we remember dreams if we are woken up suddenly.

…Spoilers much? Well, yeah, I woke up not much after I fell asleep actually, and startled.

“HUH?!”

I opened my eyes in a panic: some sudden brightness had just popped up, which caused me to wake up. I looked around and it appeared that a rainbow of sorts was surrounding me. That was when I realized, and said my thoughts out loud:

“This looks like a rainbow orb the Mirror ability can create! But…”

“Surprise!”

I heard a voice that sounded familiar, but at the same time not really. It was odd. Anyway, I looked around trying to find its source, at the same time I realized that I was basically trapped inside said rainbow orb, one so small that I couldn’t even move inside it.

“Who is there?!” I asked out loud, as I continued looking around, trying to find whoever talked to me.

“Hi there Kirby! Long time no see!”

After saying that, a green and purple simirror appeared in front of me. They were probably invisible before.

Desperate and confused, I shouted at them, “Who are you? Do I even know you? Why did you capture me?”

“Ah, all good questions! Well… I don’t know if you know me, but I guess you do if we’re being technical. But no matter, my name…” He stopped for some reason, then continued, “My name is Simis!”

Annoyed, I said, “…You’re making no sense. Anyway, why did you capture me?!”

He didn’t speak for a few seconds, then said, “…I don’t know.”

“Huh?!” I said, shocked at that answer.

“Really, I don’t. But something is telling me I should, even though…” He stopped once again for a few seconds, shook his head, then said, “Eh, nevermind.”

“…What?” I kept getting more and more confused.

“Well, no matter.” He pointed his magic rod towards me. “You’re coming with me!”

He raised his wand and both of us started glowing multicolorly. When I finally realized what was going on, we both disappeared in a blink.

Leave a comment