Midnight Madness – Part 1

Anny turned around. Still lying down and with her eyes closed, she attempted once again to fall asleep, but no matter how much she tried, and even though she was fairly tired, she just could not do it. She rolled from left to right a couple times, trying to find a good sleep position, but none satisfied her. And worse: the more she moved, the more her sleepiness vanished.

“Ugh!” she thought to herself, as she opened her eyes, annoyed.

Anny looked forward and saw Clare sleeping calmly with her Chilly plush, Caio. Realizing that she wouldn’t be able to sleep like Clare anytime soon, Anny decided to get up and give up trying to sleep for a while.

“How… How am I with insomnia when I was so sleepy minutes ago? What happened? And…”

Anny looked around the big room she was in, the same one where the meeting had been held earlier. As she expected, she saw lots of kirbies sleeping, each on their own ways. Seeing everyone but her sleeping, she sighed. “Why just me…”

Tired of lamenting to herself, however, Anny decided to take action, thinking, “Well, maybe if I walk around and recap the crazy day I had, my tiredness will come back and I can go to sleep.” She nodded, agreeing with herself. “Alright, sounds like a plan.”

And so, Anny started to walk around. First, she left the room she was in, and found herself in a long corridor. Since not all kirbies could fit in the room she was just in, some were sleeping in said corridor, so Anny walked around slowly and quietly near them, doing her best to move around without disturbing anyone. At the end of the corridor was a ladder that went up, which Anny climbed up. At the top, there was a smaller room, where Kirby, Keeby and Kirsy were sleeping.

“Wow,” Anny thought to herself, having pretty much toured through the whole house, “this house is huge. And Kirby lives alone here? So much empty space…”

Still thinking about that, Anny went through the front door and exited the house. As soon as she stepped outside, she looked around and thought, “And Green Greens is so pretty… And so peaceful… Not many people live around here…”

Anny closed her eyes and remembered her house. “And I live near Castle Lololo… Far from some people, but full of some species, like waddle dees… And so far from my friends…”

Indeed, Anny wished she could live near her friends, in particular Clare. However, she lived far from them all, because she could never find anywhere with enough space for her near any of them. Seeing Kirby’s house with so much space, she had a crazy idea.

“Wait… What if we moved here?” she thought to herself as she looked at the house. “…Well, if Kirby agreed… But yeah, it would be perfect!” Thinking about what she had just said, however, she thought, “Although… Why would Kirby agree to that? I mean, the house is his…” She stopped for a moment, then thought, “Oh, maybe we could buy it from him? Well, I’ve been saving some Point Stars, so maybe…” But then she realized, “Well, actually, how much would this house be worth? Probably a lot, hmm…” She stopped once again for a moment, and reviewed her own recent thoughts. That was when she thought, “Huh, what am I thinking, why would Kirby want to sell me his own house?” But then she remembered, “Wait, hmm, didn’t I hear him say this isn’t his main house? If so, I bet he wouldn’t mind selling it!” And then she realized yet another thing, “Although, there are basically no rooms here, so how would we even live here?” That was when she had an idea, “Wait, could maybe Daisy at least help construct them? She has built some stuff in the past… Hmm…”

After thinking so much, Anny closed her eyes and yawned. “Well,” she thought, “I guess thanks to these crazy ideas I am sleepy now. Maybe I will see what Daisy thinks tomorrow and if she would be up for reforming the house. And, of course, see if Kirby agrees!”

Anny opened her eyes and turned around, and started walking towards the house’s entrance door. However, just after she had walked a single step, a voice startled her.

“ANNY!”

Anny stopped and looked around, only to not see anyone. Confused and a bit scared, she said quietly out loud, “…Anyone around?”

“Oh it worked!!” the mysterious voice said.

“…What?! Who…” Anny looked around once again, in a panic, and still couldn’t find anyone. “What is going on? I can’t see anyone nearby? Am I hearing stuff?!”

“Oh, don’t worry Anny! You’re not going crazy! I am communicating to you from afar, that’s all!”

“…What in the?” Anny was still extremely confused, and continued looking around. “Who are you? Where are you?”

“If you want to know who I am, come where I am right now… Bubbly Clouds! Do you know where that is?”

Hearing that name, Anny said out loud, “Huh, yeah, I used to live there… But still, what? Not only do you sound like some sort of ghost, how would I even get there in the sky?”

“Well, huh, don’t you kirbies use those Warp Star things? Just use one!”

“Oh yeah, those…” Anny said, remembering about them. “The thing is, not only did I first ride one today, I don’t have one with me right now. And I can’t summon them like Kirby and that other kirby did…”

“Hmm, then can’t you just use a floating mirror to lift you up?”

“What? No way, that’s so dangerous!” Anny said, shaking her head. “What if I fall off from really high?”

“Well… Err…”

The voice had no arguments against that, as Anny was indeed telling the truth. It was truly very dangerous.

Meanwhile, due to that pause, Anny came to her senses, and realized she was talking to a ghastly voice that was telling her to come somewhere. She blinked twice and thought to herself, “What the heck am I even doing here? Am I going crazy?”

Anny turned around and once again started walking toward the house’s door, in hopes of entering the house and forgetting about all that. Noticing that, the voice spoke up.

“Hey, where are you going?”

“Sleep… voice inside my head.” Anny looked around, and then once again towards the door. “I dunno why I am still talking to you, bye!”

Realizing that Anny would be soon gone, the voice panicked, and called her out, “No, no, wait!” Desperate, it remembered to mention something, and said as fast as possible, before Anny could enter the house, “Err, I… I really wanted to see you using your awesome powers personally! I heard the Mirror ability is so cool and magical, and you have it!”

Hearing those words, Anny froze in shock. Flattered, she turned around once again, grabbed her wand and raised it upwards. “Alright! I can show you then!” She made a mirror appear and jumped on it. “I will even show how I can fly to Bubbly Clouds on a single floating mirror!”

Surprised by the sudden change in Anny’s behavior, the voice thought to itself, “Huh, what Panee wrote really worked…”

Leave a comment