We Are Not Alone – Part 9

“Dana!”

“Dana, where are you?”

Shouting were Kirby and Raven. They continued walking through Green Greens, while trying to to find Dana.

“Ugh, where could she have run off to…” Raven wondered out loud, worried.

“We’re pretty much done looking around all of Green Greens,” said Kirby. “I wonder if she went somewhere else…”

Raven shook her head. “Unlikely. She barely knows the area, so I doubt she would go too far.”

“I believe you, but… Then where is she?”

Raven stopped for a moment, and sadly agreed, “Hmm, true. Oh no…”

“Although,” Kirby continued, “thinking about it… We didn’t find anyone else either. So odd…”

Indeed, they had walked through almost all of Green Greens and didn’t stumble upon any other Kirby. “My plans of finishing that meeting are over, I see,” thought Kirby, sad. “But ignoring that… where did everyone go? Not finding any of them is so strange…”

“Raven! There you are!”

Kirby’s thoughts were interrupted by a voice from afar. Kirby and Raven both looked at its direction, and they found two kirbies heading in their direction.

“Percy?”

“…DANA!!!”

Holding Dana’s hand was Percy. When Dana saw Raven, she got so relieved that she let go of his hand and ran towards her friend. The two hugged each other, tightly.

“RAVEN!! I FOUND YOU!!” Dana screamed, relieved to have found her friend.

“Dana… I could say the same about you!” Raven said, also very relieved.

Dana let go of Raven and said, trembling a bit, “I was so scared… I… I…”

Raven got worried and asked, “What happened?”

Dana started saying with long pauses, “I… I was inside a house… And Larry was there… Fainted, but still… And I… Just…”

“You got scared?” asked Raven.

“I did…” Dana continued saying slowly. “But only after… Kirby realized what happened…”

Raven realized, “Oh, you mean…”

“Yeah,” Percy added. “She connected the dots just like Kirby did, and realized you had attacked him, Raven. She got terrified of seeing Larry’s reaction when he would wake up, so she ran away in fear.”

“Oh, did she tell you everything?” Raven asked Percy.

Percy nodded. “Yes. I asked her to tell me when I met her.”

“So you found her, Percy?” asked Kirby.

“Mhm. She was so desperate that, when I saw her, I immediately went to calm her down. After she did, we had to understand the whole situation to take care of it, so we asked her to explain.”

“…We?” Raven was confused, since she thought Percy had found Dana alone.

Kirby, however, asked, “Oh, speaking of, where is Yan?”

“He is doing the other part of this rescue mission,” said Percy. “We split up: I went with Dana looking for you, Raven, while Yan went to look for Kirby.”

“Huh… So you ended up doing both parts?” Kirby asked.

Percy stopped to think about Kirby’s remark, and then said, “…Huh, well, maybe? Well, Yan was also set to check if Larry had already woken up.” He looked at Raven and Dana. “Basically, he would check if it was safe for you two to return to the meeting, and for that he would check on Kirby.” He looked at Kirby. “Although, knowing you, Kirby, I should have expected you would help Raven…”

“Anyway, where are they now?” asked Kirby.

“Knowing him, he should be here soon,” said Percy.

“How will he find us?” asked Raven.

“Yan knows Green Greens to a T,” said Percy. “Don’t worry about it.”

“Not to mention their Ninja skills.” Kirby complemented.

“While I appreciate the compliments, we don’t really have time for that.”

Percy and Kirby recognized that voice and looked back, spotting Yan as both expected. He was walking in their direction.

Percy realized his friend had something important to report, so he asked, “Oh, is something wrong, Yan? Is it Larry?”

“No,” Yan shook his head. “It is a way bigger issue than Larry.”

“Huh?!” Percy got worried. “What is it?”

Yan started saying, “While I was looking for Kirby, I found a colorful orb near his house.”

Kirby smiled, and said, “Ohh, a decoration? Who left it for me?”

Yan looked at Kirby with a serious face. “Kirby, forgive me, but it’s not something good. Kirbies are being held hostage inside that orb.”

“Huh??” Kirby said, confused.

“What??” Raven also said, confused as well.

“I tried to see who was inside it, when I, shamefully, lost attention for about a second and dropped a kunai, making a small sound. I immediately went to hide, and I saw a white kirby I had never seen before come in my direction. I quietly ran away before he could potentially find me. I believe that unknown kirby is the one capturing the others.”

“A white kirby…” Kirby started to think about Yan’s report. “I don’t know any white kirbies other than Raven either…” He started to walk around, still talking to himself while he pondered. “And he wasn’t one of the unknown kirbies Keeby had spotted… How odd…”

“So you think this white kirby captured the others?” asked Raven.

“Indeed,” said Yan. “Hence why I came back to find you as soon as possible.”

“Ah, yes…” Percy celebrated. “Time to plan another rescue mission!”

Yan looked at Kirby. “Hey Kirby, remember plan ICI-12?”

Kirby attempted to remember. “…Ehh…”

“The one we used to ambush that one Tac that a while ago had stolen lots of money from all sorts of Dream Landers…” completed Percy.

“Oh!” Kirby had an insight. “Right! I remember now!”

“I was thinking of using an adaptation of it, incorporating the two girls as well,” Yan said.

Dana flinched, and said, “I… I would prefer to just watch…”

Yan understood Dana. “Alright. Then just Raven if that’s fine with her.”

“Yes,” Raven said. “Count me in.”

“Perfect.” Yan looked at Raven. “So, Raven, you can do Percy’s original role.” He then looked at Percy. “Percy, you do my role alongside me.” Finally, he looked at Kirby. “And Kirby, you keep your role.”

“Alright,” Percy said.

“Gotcha!” Kirby said, striking a pose.

“Eh…” Raven was a bit lost. “I don’t follow…”

“Don’t worry,” Yan said to her, “I will give you all the details.”

And so Yan and Percy explained to Raven, as well as Kirby, their plan to ambush the white kirby. Dana watched them, scared, and thought to herself, “I hope that works… Being trapped is so scary, poor kirbies…”

Leave a comment