We Are Not Alone – Part 5

On Green Greens’s forest area, far from Kirby’s house, a couple kirbies could be seen near some trees.

“Really? Only one apple?”

Valoo was looking up at a tree. Climbing down from it was Jake, holding an apple.

“That’s all I could find, sadly,” he said.

“Aww…” Valoo was sad. “I was in the mood for chocolate, but understandable…”

Jake got close to the ground and jumped down. “Chocolate doesn’t grow on trees, so…”

As soon as he reached the ground, Valoo went in his direction, grabbed the apple, and gulped it down in one go. They smiled, and said, “Delicious!”

“I hope that can satisfy your hunger!” said Zan with a smile, who had been waiting for Jake to come back with the apple.

“I think so…” said Valoo. “For now, at least,” they said, and chuckled.

“Hey, folks!”

The three were interrupted by a voice coming from the sky, and looked up trying to look for its source. And soon after they found it: it was Natty.

“Something really bad happened, and I need your help!” she said as she continued flying down.

“Oh, what is it?!” asked Jake, worried.

Natty landed on the ground. “Well, I don’t know too many details, but apparently some white kirby is trying to capture other kirbies, and he already got some.”

“Capture kirbies?” said Zan. “That’s horrible!”

“Indeed!” said Natty. “He got Matt and some others already…”

“We gotta help them!” Zan said with a bold face.

“That’s right!” said Jake. “We gotta head where they are and save them!”

“Agreed!” said Valoo.

Natty smiled. “Yup, yup, perfect! I will guide you there, follow me!”

“Follow you?” asked Zan.

“Yeah,” Natty said, “I will fly there and you–” Natty stopped once she realized something. “Oh, right.”

Natty remembered that, while she could fly easily and fast, the same wasn’t true for most kirbies, and certainly wasn’t true for those other three kirbies.

“Yeah, sorry,” said Zan, “we can’t fly or run as fast as you…”

“Not your fault!” Natty said, feeling a bit bad, but she continued regardless, “But indeed, they are on the other side of Green Greens, and we need to get back there as soon as possible, but I don’t know how you three can go as fast as me…”

The four kirbies stood there, trying to think of something. That was when they were interrupted by someone else.

“Err… Hello?”

The one timidly greeting them was Tim. He had just arrived from the other side of the forest.

“Oh…” Natty looked at him. “Tim! I didn’t realize you were here.”

“Well…” Tim blushed, embarrassed. “I got lost while I was training…”

“Training?” asked Valoo.

“Yeah, I like to race, so I was running around in my wheel form to train. I am trying to get even faster so that I can race even better against Natty and her rival, Matt!” Tim explained.

Jake, who was just listening to the whole conversation quietly, suddenly had a revelation.

“Wait, wait!” he shouted. “I’ve got an idea!”

He ran to his left, until the other kirbies could not see him. Confused, they all looked at each other. Natty then suddenly noticed something, and looked at the direction Jake went to, when she saw something huge being thrown in Valoo’s direction. Before she could even move, however, it landed right in front of them, and they didn’t even flinch. That was when Natty finally figured out what had been thrown: a minecart.

“Oops, sorry for the scare!” said Jake, as he was walking back. “I just wanted to throw the cart near you all, but not THAT close. My bad.”

“All good!” said Zan. “What matters is that no one got hurt.”

“Yeah,” said Natty, but she quickly said what was in her mind, “So, you plan to use this cart you randomly found somehow?”

Jake nodded. “Yup! I saw this stuff earlier when we got around here, and it’s going to be perfect for this! Here is how we will do it…”

Jake looked at Tim and ordered, “Tim! Please transform into your wheel form.”

“Oh, ok!” Following his orders, Tim transformed, even though he had no idea what was going on.

Jake put his right arm inside the cart and grabbed something that resembled a saddle. He then went in Tim’s direction and placed it on him.

“Huh, what’s this?” asked Tim.

“You’ll see,” Jake said, and then looked at another kirby. “Zan!”

“Oh, yes?” Zan answered.

Jake once again went to grab something inside the cart, this time a motorcycling hat of sorts. He handed it over to Zan.

“Wear this. You will be Tim’s pilot.”

“Pilot?” asked Tim. “But I can drive by myself!”

Jake shrugged. “Well, I guess you two can pilot together? I’m sure you can figure something out.”

Zan was a bit confused, but trusted Jake; he was a dear friend of his, and Zan knew that he often came up with crazy but creative plans. “No matter what he’s planning, I’m sure it will work!” he thought, as he put on the motorcycling hat. He went in Tim’s direction and got on him.

“This is new to me…” said Tim.

“Oh, hi Tim!” Zan said, as he adjusted himself on the saddle. “I won’t lie, this is also weird for me… But I trust Jake.”

“By the way, what is all this for?” Tim asked Zan. “I just got here and went with the flow…”

“Oh, true, you didn’t catch the beginning!” said Zan, realizing that. “Let me explain…”

While they talked to each other, Jake looked at Tim and Zan in position and smiled. He once again went to grab something inside the cart, this time a rope. He attached it to Tim’s saddle and then the cart.

“Ohh, I think I understand what you’re planning now!” said Natty, who had been watching everything.

Jake smiled. “Heh, I bet at this point it’s clear.” He looked at Valoo and said, “Valoo, come in with me!”

Jake jumped inside the cart, this time instead staying inside it. Valoo followed him and also jumped inside it.

With everyone in position, Jake started saying, “Alright everyone, here is the plan!” He pointed at Natty. “Natty will fly to where these captured kirbies are at, and we’ll follow her.” He then pointed at the cart. “With this cart and everything, Tim will use his speed to make us match her speed.”

“Gotcha!” Zan said.

“But… Is this really gonna work?” asked Natty.

“It will!” Jake said, confidently. “Trust me!”

“…If you say so…” Natty said. “To be fair, we do need to at least try.”

“Exactly!” Jake said, and then got in position. “So, everyone ready?”

“Ready!” Tim said.

“I’m ready,” Zan said.

“Ready when you are!” Natty said.

“Alright,” Jake said. “Three, two, one… GO!”

With the signal, Tim accelerated and started building speed, as Zan helped him control his trajectory. As Jake expected, Tim managed to drag the cart he and Valoo were in without losing much speed. As such, Natty saw them moving and started flying towards their destination— the rainbow-colored orb—, acting as their guide.

Leave a comment